Newton J. McGuire


The only child of Mr. and Mrs. Michael McGuire was, Newton J. McGuire, who was born on a farm on Laughery creek, near Rising Sun, Ohio County, Indiana, on the 6th of November 1868. When he was twelve years of age, the family moved to the county sent, where lie completed his high school course with high honors in 1887. He then took a summer course at the National Normal University, taught two winters, and in September. 1890 entered the law department of the University of Michigan, and two years later graduated with his professional degree. During that period he was a leader in all debates; won first prize in the university oratorical contest, and in May, 1892, represented the university in the Northern Oratorical League Contest held in Evanston, Illinois. While in college be also assisted in launching The American Republican College League, placing in nomination its first president in it speech which attracted much notice.

Mr. McGuire graduated from the law department of Michigan University in June. 1892, and at once commenced the practice of law in Rising Sun. In November 1893, he located at Indianapolis with the firm of Griffith & Potts, but resumed independent practice after being thus associated for more than three years. In January 1910, he was appointed Assistant City attorney of Indianapolis under Mayor Samuel Lewis Shank. Later he had offices in the Fidelity Trust Building and practiced law about thirty-five years. He was for many years attorney for the Plymouth Building and Loan Association.

Mr. McGuire became one of the leading figures in the patriotic order, Sons of Veterans. Soon after he graduated from Michigan University he was elected commander of the Indiana Division, the honor being conferred upon him by the sixth annual encampment held at Fort Wayne, Allen County, Indiana, and he was reelected at the seventh meeting at Terre Haute, Vigo, Indiana. He also served as National Secretary, Attorney and as a member of the Council-in-Chief (the present Council of Administration). He was considered an authority on the history and affairs of the order. His local membership was with Ben Harrison Camp No. 356, of Indianapolis.

In Masonry he belonged to Lodge No. 6, Rising Sun, and was a Knight of Pythias with Indianapolis Lodge No. 56. He was a member of the Marion Club and the Board of Trade of Indianapolis; of the Indianapolis and Indiana State Bar Associations and of the Commercial Club, of Indianapolis. His religious faith was indicated by his identification with the College Avenue Baptist Church.

On October 2, 1894, Mr. McGuire married Miss Abbie L. Harris, daughter of Cornelius R. Harris, one of the leading citizens' of Southern Indiana, and they had one child, Russell Harris McGuire. Mrs. McGuire died 01 February 1916 at Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana.

Newton J. McGuire, 64 years old, a prominent figure in the legal and political life of Indianapolis more than three decades, died unexpectedly August 30, 1931 at his home, 3356 Central Avenue. He had been in ill health four years.

Funeral services, conducted by the Rev. Frank C. Huston (1931)(a), pastor of the Oaklandon Christian Church, Marion County, Indiana were held in the Flanner & Buchanan mortuary, 23 West Fall Creek Boulevard, Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana. Burial was in Crown Hill Cemetery, Section 48, Lot 470, NO grave marker.

Active pallbearers were James M. Ogden, State Attorney General; Thomas A. Daily; Frank R. Reynolds; William A. Edwards; Frank Shellhouse (1922) and Jess E. Martin. Honorary pallbearers were Allan S. Holbrook of Illinois (1930), Commander-in-Chief, Horace H Hammer of Reading,Pennsylvania, the National Secretary-Treasurer, and the following the Past Commanders-in-Chief of the Sons of Union Veterans: Harvey B Speelman of Ohio (1905); Ralph Sheldon of New York (1907); Edgar Allan of Maryland (1908); Fred E. Bolton of Massachusetts (1910); Ralph M. Grant of Connecticut (1912); John E. Sautter (1913) of Pennsylvania; Charles F. Sherman of New York (1914); W.T. Church of Illinois (1916); Harry D. Sisson of Massachusetts (1919); F.A. Barrows of Nebraska (1920); Samuel S. Horn of Pennsylvania (1923); William M. Coffin of Ohio (1924); Edwin C. Irelan of Maryland (1925); Ernest W. Homan of Massachusetts (1926); Walter C. Mabie of Pennsylvania (1927); Delvan B. Bowley of California (1928); and Theodore C. Cazeau of New York (1929).

Notes and Sources:

(a) Year served as Commander-in-Chief.

History of Greater Indianapolis, Jacob Piatt Dunn, Volume 2, Pp 843-844, The Lewis Publishing Company, 1910.
Courts and Lawyers of Indiana, Leander J. Monk LL.D., Volume 3, Pp 1260-1261, Federal Publishing Company, Indianapolis, Indiana.
Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis, Indiana, August 31 1931, Page 1, Column 3, Page 2
Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis, Indiana, November 06 1914, Page 8, Column 4
Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis, Indiana, May 24 1918, Page 1, Column 2
Indiana Biography Series, Volume 7, Page 96-97
Cottman's Centennial History and Handbook of Indiana. 1915, Biography Section Page 5
Indianapolis Star, Indianapolis, Indiana October 22 1934, Page 10, Column 4

Submitted July 30, 2000 by:
Stephen Bruce Bauer
Department of Indiana
Signal Officer
2412 North Saturn Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46229-1152