Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Council of Administration Meeting
November 18, 2001
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

The meeting of the Council of Administration (CoA) was called to order by Commander-in-Chief (C-in-C) George L. Powell. Past Commander-in-Chief (PC-in-C) Richard Schlenker gave opening prayer.

Brother Lee Walters being present was asked by Commander-in-Chief George Powell if he was still willing to be Executive Director for the Order after reviewing the contract. Brother Walters agreed.

Voting members of the CoA present were C-in-C Powell, Senior Vice Commander-in-Chief (SVC-in-C) Robert Grim, Junior Vice Commander-in-Chief (JVC-in-C) Kent Armstrong, National Secretary Edward J. Krieser, National Treasurer Max L. Newman, National Quartermaster Elmer F. Atkinson, CoA members Donald Darby, Ron Gill and Robert Petrovic. Non-voting CoA members present were PC-in-C's Andrew M. Johnson, Richard D. Orr, Charles W. Corfman, Richard C. Schlenker, David R. Medert, and National Counselor James B. Pahl.

The minutes of the previous meeting of 12 August 2001 were approved with one typographical error corrected in paragraph 5.

Treasurer's report was given. There was some discussion on investment. Moved by National Quartermaster Elmer F. Atkinson to accept, second by JVC-in-C Kent Armstrong. It was then voted unanimously to accept.

Regular Order of Business was put on hold while we listened to Brother John Hart, printer of the BANNER talk about the publication.

Back to regular order of business. Reports of Officers and committees were reviewed.

It was reported that George Hicks of the National Civil War Museum requested Officenter to submit another proposal for office furniture to C-in-C Powell. C-in-C Powell subsequently ordered the furniture.

C.of A. Member Don Darby moved to transfer $10,000.00 (Ten Thousand Dollars) from the Reserve Fund to the Headquarters Fund for future expenses. Second by PC-in-C Atkinson. Passed unanimously.

Moved by PC-in-C Atkinson to purchase two 4 drawer vertical file cabinets for the National Headquarters. Second by JVC-in-C Armstrong. Passed unanimously.

Proposed Awards Policy as submitted by PC-in-C Richard Orr was reviewed and modifications made. Brother Darby moved to limit the Founders' Award to non-members of the Order and non-members of any of the Allied Orders, numerous seconds and accepted unanimously.

PC-in-C Atkinson moved, second by Ron Gill to award the Founders' Award to Mr. Gene Platt of California.

C-in-C Powell suggested one of the first two Saturday's in March for the next Council of Administration meeting. Council members are asked to look at their schedules and pick one of the two dates in the electronic boardroom.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted in
Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty,
Edward J. Krieser, PC-in-C
National Secretary

Return to SUVCW Home Page
Return to SUVCW Web Site Index
Return to Council of Administration Page