Sons of Union Veterans of The Civil War

Office of the Commander-in-Chief

Perley E. Mellor, Commander-in-Chief

16 Norma Drive

Nashua , NH 03062-1340


General Order #29

SERIES 2012-2013

19 August 2013


1. This final General Order for the 2012-2013 administrative year documents the awards that were presented at the National Encampment in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

2. The following awards were presented at the 2013 National Encampment

Lifetime Achievement Award
Joseph “Joe” Long, Jr. - Department of Pennsylvania

Cornelius F. Whitehouse Award – Brother of the Year
Ronald F. Rittel – Department of Iowa

Abraham Lincoln Award – Camp of the Year
General Frederick K. Lander Camp #5, Lynn, MA – Department of Massachusetts

Augustus P. Davis/Conrad Linder Award
(Department with greatest number of new members)
Department of Ohio (78)

U.S. Grant Cup Award
(Department with highest percentage of gain of new members)
Department of Georgia-South Carolina (27%)

Joseph S. Rippey Award – Most Outstanding New Camps
George J. Stannard Camp #2, North Western, VT

Under Forty Award
(Department with the greatest number of new members under age 40)
Department of Wisconsin (7)

Marshall Hope Award – Most Outstanding Newsletter

“The Missouri Unionist” – Department of Missouri
“They Will Not Be Forgotten", – Colonel Hecker Camp #443, Department of Illinois

Albert Woolson Award
(Most Outstanding Sesquicentennial Signature Event)
Bentonville Battlefield Union Monument Dedication
Department of North Carolina SUVCW

Scholarship Awards
Britta A. Musser – Mt. Union Church Camp #502 Auxiliary – Dept. of Pennsylvania

Horace Greeley Award – Most Outstanding Website -
Department of California & Pacific
Camp - Lincoln Cushing Camp # 2, Department of the Chesapeake

Meritorious Service Award with Gold Star:
Lee Stone, PDC – Department of the Chesapeake
Charles (Charlie) E. Kuhn, Jr. PCinC – Department of Pennsylvania
James H. Houston, PDC – Department of Ohio

National Aides
Gary Scheel – Department of Missouri – 13 new members
David K. LaBrot – Department of Texas – 10 new members
James Ludlam - Department of New Jersey -10 new members
Fredric C. Lynch – Department of Ohio – 8 new members
Dr. Douglas Fidler – Department of Tennessee – 7 new members
Robert Grandchamp – Department of Vermont – 6 new members
John R. France – Department of North Carolina -5 new members
C. Jeffrey Heagy – Department of New Jersey – 5 new members
Timothy Murphy – Department of New Jersey – 4 new members
David Hann – Department of New Jersey – 3 new members
William Kale – Department of New Jersey – 3 new members

Meritorious Service Award
William C. Stark – Department of Ohio
George J. Weinmann – Department of New York
Chris Czopek – Department of Michigan
David M. Lamb – Department of Iowa
Thomas Gaard – Department of Iowa
Steven Bogle – Department of Iowa
Allan W. Howey – Department of Ohio

Dr. Mary Walker Award – Ladies Appreciation, National Award
Jane Graham, PNP – Auxiliary to the SUVCW
Rachelle M. Campbell, PDP - Auxiliary to the SUVCW
Ellen Higgins, SVP – Daughters of Union Veterans 1861 - 1865
Judy Rock, NP – Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic

B.F. Stephenson Award – Brother who recruits most new members
David Rish – Department of Ohio (17 new members)

John R. Clem Award – Most Outstanding Junior(s)
Payton Seats – Governor William Denison Camp # 1
Department of Ohio

Ordered this 19th Day of August, 2013.

Perley E. Mellor
Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War



Eugene Mortorff
National Order, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Return to Index of General Orders