Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War



Council of Administration Meeting August 11, 2002 Springfield, Illinois

Voting Council of Administration members present were Commander-in-Chief (C-in-C) Robert E. Grim, Senior Vice Commander-in-Chief (SVC-in-C) Kent L. Armstrong, Junior Vice Commander-in-Chief (JVC-in-C) Stephen A. Michaels, National Treasurer, Max L. Newman, National Secretary PC-in-C Edward J. Krieser, National Quartermaster PC-in-C Elmer (Bud) Atkinson, Council of Administration Members PC-in-C George L. Powell, PDC Donald E. Darby, PDC Ronald B. Gill and PDC Robert M. Petrovic. In addition were National Washington DC Representative PC-in-C Andrew M. Johnson, National Encampment Site committee Chairman PC-in-C Charles W. Corfman, National Counselor PDC James B. Pahl, and National Camp and Department Organizer PDC Gary L. Gibson.

C-in-C Grim led prayer followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The meeting of the Council of Administration (CoA) was called to order by C-in-C Grim at 8:01a.m. The C-in-C welcomed JVC-in-C Steve Michaels to Council of Administration.

The next order of business was to set when the National \$6.00 Per-Capita increase would take effect. Moved by Don Darby many seconds to take effect January 1, 2003. Passed unanimously.

Moved and seconded to increase NMAL Per-Capita from \$25.00 to \$30.00 to begin January 1, 2003. Passed by unanimous vote.

Vote unanimously for Life Member plan prior to 1996 re-imbursement to camps to remain at \$4.00 for this fiscal year.

Vote unanimously to set On Line Application Fee from \$35.00 to \$41.00 with the increase to be effective January 1, 2003.

C-in-C Grim mentioned the decision of the National Encampment to institute the Service Medal and appointed PDC Darby to chair the committee for the design and assigned the Program and Policy Committee to create the Service Medal Application Form. The Program and Policy Committee was also commissioned to make the form for the ROTC Medal Application and look into revising the Camp Officer Election and Installation Form 22.

The Encampment also chose to do something with the National C-in-C Seal since it is in such bad condition. Max Newman moved, Ron Gill seconded to appropriate funds to repair or replace the Seal.

Passed unanimously. C-in-C Grim appointed Program and Policy Committee to propose a plan for this.

Brother Don Darby moved, second by Bob Petrovic to supply additional funds to purchase a portrait case for the Seal to be transported and protected in. Passed unanimously.

SVC-in-C Armstrong moved, Ed Krieser second to appoint a committee to look for the means of producing a professional 15 to 30 minutes S.U.V.C.W. video for the Order. Passed unanimously. C-in-C Grim appointed SVC-in-C Armstong to chair that committee.

Brother Darby moved, PC-in-C Atkinson second to open the Monument and Memorials Fund to new monuments. That the policy should read, "The grant fund is open to the preservation and restoration of Civil War monuments and memorials as well as supporting the production of new monuments. Priority of funds will be for preservation. Requests for new monuments will be accepted between 1 May and 15 June. The committee is authorized to revisit and issue remaining money, of that year, to camps and/or departments who have submitted requests for that year on a need basis." The motion passed unanimously.

Brother Darby moved, Brother Petrovic second to allow host departments to sell National Encampment Badges to members only unless specifically prohibited by the Council of Administration. A unanimous vote passed the motion.

PC-in-C Powell moved, PC-in-C Atkinson second to send each camp a copy of proceedings in addition to all the attendees. Motion failed. 2 votes for and 7 votes against.

Brother Newman moved and PC-in-C Powell second to pay from Reserve if needed to print all proceedings that have yet to be printed. Motion passed by 8 votes for and 1 vote against.

The meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted in Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty, Edward J. Krieser, PC-in-C National Secretary



KGH