

Brian C. Pierson Commander in Chief Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War



General Order #24 Series 2020-2021 7 August 2021

Annual Awards

By the authority vested in me as Commander-in-Chief of the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, the National Constitution and Regulations, and National Policies, it is hereby ordered that the following awards be made at the 140th National Encampment in Saint Louis, Missouri:

- 1. Meritorious Service Award with Gold Star: Henry Shaw, Department of Ohio. For many years, Brother Shaw has served well and above the call of duty, ably orchestrating the annual Remembrance Day program in Gettysburg, one of the signature events of the Allied Orders. He travelled to Gettysburg several times each year to coordinate the arrangements with the National Park Service, city government, and civic organizations. Due to his steadfast efforts, the Remembrance Day ceremonies have flourished. Furthermore, Brother Shaw's leadership as Chairman of the National Military Affairs Committee has ensured that the Sons of Veterans Reserve has remained strong and active. The actions, ability, and dedication of Brother Shaw reflect great credit upon himself and the SUVCW.
- 2. Meritorious Service Award: Loran Bures, Department of the Columbia; Jaeger Held, Department of Colorado & Wyoming; Bruce Amsden, Department of Vermont; Howard Poarch, Department of Alabama; John Edelmann, Department of Ohio; Howard Black, Department of Maine; John Conrad, Department of the Southwest; Michael Rowley, Department of Iowa
- 3. The Doctor Mary Edwards Walker Award: Wanda Langdon, NP, ASUVCW; Caren Cleaveland, PNP, DUVCW; Sarah Meyer, PNP, DUVCW.
- 4. Elmer (Bud) Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award: James Pahl, PCinC; Andrew Johnson, PCinC
- 5. Certificate of Recognition: Frederic Lynch, Department of Ohio; Stephen Ball, Department of Ohio; Gray Brewer, Department of Colorado & Wyoming; Michael Rusk, Department of Oklahoma; Raymond Wozniak, Department of Georgia & South Carolina
- 6. Chaplain William Corby Award: Dean Collins, Department of Wisconsin; Samuel Lundy, Department of New York; Clark Brucht, Department of Pennsylvania; Ed Lane, Department of Kentucky; William Andrews, Department of Oklahoma; Robert Winters, Department of Indiana
- 7. David R. Medert Award: Bruce Fortin, Department of Kentucky
- 8. National Aide Award: Bruce Fortin, Department of Kentucky; Loran Bures, Department of the Columbia; Robert Welch, Department of Illinois; Timothy O'Neal, Department of the Columbia; Nicholas Kaup, Department of Illinois

- 9. Abraham Lincoln Commander in Chief Award: Major General William T. Sherman Camp #93, Department of Ohio
- 10. Augustus P. Davis Conrad Linder Award: Department of New York
- 11. U.S. Grant Cup: Department of Alabama
- 12. Under Forty Award: Department of the Chesapeake
- 13. Marshall Hope Award (Best Newsletter):

Camp: Robert Finch Camp No. 14, Traverse City, Dept of Michigan

Department: Department of Georgia & South Carolina

- 14. Joseph S. Rippey Award: Private John N. Eckes, Camp #10, Winfield, Department of Kansas
- 15. Horace Greeley Award:

Brow C. Proy.

Camp: General John F. Hartranft Camp 15, Harrisburg, Department of PA

Department: Department of the Columbia

Ordered this 7th Day of August, A.D. 2021

Brian C. Pierson

Commander-in-Chief

Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Attest:

Jonathan C. Davis

Jonathan C. Davis

National Secretary

Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War