

Michael A. Paquette Commander in Chief Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

> 11901 Branchwater Street Fredericksburg, VA 22407 <u>CinC@SUVCW.org</u>



General Order #22 Series 2021-2022 13 August 2022

Annual Awards

By the authority vested in me as Commander-in-Chief of the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, the National Charter, Constitution and Regulations, and National Policies, it is hereby ordered that the following awards be made at the 141st National Encampment in Grand Rapids, Michigan:

1. Meritorious Service Award with Gold Star: Brother Roderick Fraser, Department of Massachusetts, and Brother David Wildermuth, Department of Illinois. See General Orders 19 and 20 respectively for the detailed description of the awards. Both Brother Fraser and Brother Wildermuth reflect great credit upon themselves, their Departments, and the SUVCW.

2. Meritorious Service Award: Fred Mossbrucker, Department of New Jersey; Steve Bauermeister, Department of Nebraska; Fred Campbell, Department of Wisconsin; David Demmy Jr., Department of Pennsylvania.

3. Cornelius F. Whitehouse (Brother of the Year): James T. Crane, PDC, Department of Ohio

4. John C. Clem (Best Junior member): William Blair Reither, Department of Georgia and South Carolina

5. Elmer (Bud) Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award: Jerome Orton, PDC, Department of New York and Nicholas Kaup, PDC, Department of Illinois.

6. Founder's Award: Ethel B. French, Watertown, New York

7. Chaplain William Corby Award: Dean H. Shearer, Department of the Columbia; Craig G. Pete Department of the Columbia; Carlos A. Pasillas, PCC, Department of the Columbia.

8. David R. Medert Award (Most new members recruited in the past year): Bobby Welch, Department of Illinois

9. National Aide Award (Recruit five or more new members in the past year): Bobby Welch, Department of Illinois; Clark McCullough, Department of New Jersey; Loran Bures, PDC, Department of the Columbia; Steven Gibbons, Dept of Maine; Brian McManus, PDC, Department of Wisconsin; Benjamin Frail, PDC, Department of Rhode Island; Gary Carlberg, Department of Wisconsin 10. Certificate of Recognition: Department of Wisconsin for placing the Last Union Veteran markers in every county within the state of Wisconsin.

11. Abraham Lincoln Commander in Chief Award (Best camp): C. K. Piers Badger Camp #1, Department of Wisconsin

12. Joseph S. Rippey Award (Best new camp chartered in the past year): Major General Judson Kilpatrick Camp No. 7, Department t of North Carolina

13. Augustus P. Davis – Conrad Linder Award (Department with greatest number of new members): Department of Pennsylvania

14. U.S. Grant Cup (Department with greatest percentage increase): Department of Maine

15. Under Forty Award: Department of New York

16. Marshall Hope Award (Best newsletter): Camp: Lt. Commander Edward Lea U.S.N. Camp No. 2, Department of Texas and Louisiana Department: Department of Missouri

17. Horace Greeley Award (Best website): Camp: Orlando A. Somers Camp No. 1, Department of Indiana Department: Department of the Columbia.

18: Certificate of Recognition (Best social media) Camp: Admiral David G. Farragut Camp #5, Dept of Alabama Department: Department of Kentucky

Ordered this 13th Day of August, 2022

Michaela Paquete

Michael A. Paquette Commander-in-Chief Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Attest:

Alan L. Russ

National Secretary Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War